General Mills has recently recalled about 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Cheerios boxes due to the possible presence of wheat. Both Original and Honey Nut flavors are at risk. The “undeclared allergen” could seriously affect those with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance.
The products were produced in July, and about 150,000 cases are being recalled. Here are the dates to watch for if you have recently purchased Original or Honey Nut Cheerios:
“Better if used by” dates for recalled Honey Nut Cheerios:
“Better if used by” dates for recalled original Cheerios
Customers with affected products can contact General Mills for a replacement or refund, but in many cases, the damage has already been done. Parents have reported young children with Celiac Disease have been sick following the consumption of the affected Cheerios.
According to the Food and Drug Administration, consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.
Source: The Washington Post