博客

直发化学物质与子宫癌风险相关——黑人女性可能受影响更大

黑人妇女看着镜头Women who use chemical hair straighteners, dyes, bleach, and perm chemicals are at a higher risk for uterine cancer according to a new report from the National Institutes of Health.

该研究共有 33,497 名年龄在 35 岁至 74 岁之间的美国女性参与。 11年间,诊断出378例子宫癌。

研究发现,经常使用直发产品的女性患子宫癌的可能性是不使用直发产品的女性的四倍多。

子宫癌约占所有新发癌症病例的 3%,但它是女性生殖系统中最常见的癌症,到 2022 年将有 65,950 个新发病例。研究表明,美国的发病率不断上升,尤其是黑人女性。此前的研究发现,化学直发剂会增加女性患激素相关癌症的风险。

大约 60% 的使用化学直发器的参与者自认为是黑人。然而,该研究并未发现直发器的使用与种族之间存在相关性。由于黑人女性更普遍使用,因此黑人女性的不良反应可能更高。

没有收集到有关女性使用的护发产品的品牌或成分的信息,但护发产品中的化学物质,如对羟基苯甲酸酯、双酚 A、金属和甲醛,可能会增加患子宫癌的风险。

 

分享

Ada-Icon

Blog

Hair straightening chemicals associated with uterine cancer risk-Black women may be more affected

black woman looking in to the cameraWomen who use chemical hair straighteners, dyes, bleach, and perm chemicals are at a higher risk for uterine cancer according to a new report from the National Institutes of Health.

In the study, 33,497 U.S. women from ages 35 – 74 were in the study. In 11 years, 378 uterine cancer cases were diagnosed.

The study found that women who frequently used hair straightening products were more than four times as likely to develop uterine cancer compared to those who did not.

Uterine cancer accounts for about 3% of all new cancer cases but is the most common of the female reproductive system, with 65,950 new cases in 2022. Studies show rising rates in the U.S. especially in Black women. Prior studies found that chemical straighteners can increase the risk of hormone-related cancer in women.

About 60 percent of the participants who reported using chemical straighteners self-identified as Black. However the study did not find correlation to the use of straighteners and race; adverse effects may be higher in Black women because of more prevalent use amongst Black women.

No information was collected on brands or ingredients in the hair products the women used, but the chemicals in hair products, like parabens, bisphenol A, metals, and formaldehyde, could be contributing to the risk of uterine cancer.

 

Share