博客

石棉律师继续在该领域留下自己的印记

詹姆斯·P·内文先生在他职业生涯的第一个十年里,担任出庭律师詹姆斯·内文以不懈、极快的速度工作,几乎不间断地审理石棉和其他侵权案件。“我会完成一项审判,第二天开始新的审判,”他回忆道。 “我会在一次审判中得到判决,第二天我会在下一次审判中提出限制动议。这是一次又一次的审判,这是一次奇妙的经历。”

内文律师事务所刚从加利福尼亚州的布雷顿珀塞尔律师事务所毕业,就加入了这家律师事务所,该事务所充斥着工人在工作场所接触有毒物质而受害的案件,这位年轻的律师首先投入了工作。对于一位拥有必要的诉讼才能和动力的律师来说,这是一次难得的机会。

“我们需要更多的审判律师,我也有这个愿望,”他说。 “他们直接把我扔了进去。对于大多数公司来说,在你担任审判的首席主持之前,你会在那里工作很多年。我认为在其他地方我不会有机会在这么年轻的时候尝试这么多案件。”

内文从法学院毕业几年后就开始担任首席审判官。他还记得 2005 年的第一次审判,当时他为一名患有石棉沉滞症的委托人赢得了 125 万美元的赔偿,并表示辩护律师、法官和书记员对一位年轻律师非常包容。他记得书记员让他早点到法庭做好准备,并允许他在必要时留到很晚。

“他们尽可能地和蔼可亲,”内文说。 “这是一次很棒的第一次经历,我很幸运能遇到这种情况。它很可能会走向相反的方向。”

在接下来的几年里,出现了许多更有利的判决——事实上,数量如此之多,以至于仅仅六年后——36 岁的他就被邀请加入美国审判辩护委员会 (ABOTA),该委员会要求其成员拥有至少五年作为出庭律师的积极经验,并主持至少 10 次民事陪审团审判直至结束。 Nevin 成为 ABOTA 全国历史上第二年轻的成员,也是该组织旧金山分会历史上最年轻的成员。

这是他通过每周 7 天、每天工作 12 至 13 小时而获得的崇高荣誉。他从看似取之不尽用之不竭的能量源泉中汲取能量,而这种能量源泉源于他相信自己代表的是那些受到不公正冤屈的人们。

“当你为值得的人做好事时,我认为这会帮助你找到继续前进的内在力量,”他说。

讽刺的是,尽管内文是一位技术娴熟的出庭律师,但他却从未过多考虑过诉讼。他最初着眼于实践国际公司法。

不过,他很可能会成为一名律师。

内文 (Nevin) 在旧金山湾区西北角的加利福尼亚州马林出生和长大,他的根源可追溯到爱尔兰基尔肯尼的一个大家庭,这个家庭有着悠久的职业传统,从事护士、警察、和律师。他的祖父、一位叔叔和众多表兄弟都是警察。他的父亲、两位叔叔和一位阿姨都是律师。他的母亲、妹妹以及两位祖母都是护士。

“我试图向我的孩子们灌输这样的观念:我认为,来自移民家庭的每一代人都有责任努力超越上一代,并回馈社会,”内文说。

内文 (Nevin) 和他的妻子布丽吉特 (Brigit) 结婚 20 年,育有四个孩子:肖恩 (Sean) 是一名高中生;肖恩 (Sean) 是一名高中生;谢尔比,大二学生;克莱尔,八年级;还有五年级的科林。布里吉特在退休抚养孩子之前是美国环保局的一名执法科学家。她是有学习障碍儿童的热情倡导者。

当内文决心去体验更多的世界时,他的法律职业生涯就开始了。

内文一生都生活在马林县的泡沫中,那里有巨大的红杉树,可以欣赏金门大桥的景色,高中毕业后,内文决定穿越全国,在波士顿学院攻读国际研究学士学位。此外,他还曾在中国北京大学和南京大学以及比利时外交学院留学,为他的国际简历奠定了基础。

本科毕业后,他回到家乡,在斯坦福大学获得了东亚研究硕士学位,主修政府和商业,之后进入加州大学洛杉矶分校法学院,担任《法律评论》编辑。

当时交易律师市场不景气,加上不愿在海外养家糊口,内文将自己的职业重点从国际商法转向了他和当时的未婚夫布丽吉特,回到了马林。

这一举动在很多方面让内文回归了自己的根源。他在法学院三年级时在布雷顿·珀塞尔 (Brayton Purcell) 的诺瓦托办公室担任法律助理,这让他重新以他家族几代人所倡导的方式帮助人们。这家拥有 37 年历史的公司专注于涉及间皮瘤和其他石棉相关疾病的病例。

“当你代表好人时,这真的很有帮助,”他说。 “当你的心在正确的地方,因为你做得正确时,这会有所帮助。”

虽然从事诉讼是出于必要,但他很快发现自己对这项工作有天赋。“我立即发现我不仅喜欢这个,而且我真的很擅长,”他说。

更重要的是,他遇到了吉尔·珀塞尔(Gil Purcell),该公司的两位高级合伙人之一,事实证明,他是一位严肃的导师,直率且充满期望。

“出庭律师是天生的,也是长大的,”内文说。 “你必须拥有与生俱来的技能和愿望,但你还需要良好的培训和指导,而我很幸运两者都具备。”

内文对珀塞尔的指导风格反应良好,这种指导风格可能是直率和无情的。当内文在第一次审判结束后离开法庭时,他兴高采烈,因胜利而脸红——珀塞尔一直在走廊里侧耳倾听门缝,递给内文一份用紫色墨水写的 10 页清单,内容是:他在审判中做错的所有事情

内文说:“他是一位伟大的导师。”他接着讲述了自己担任高中橄榄球队联合队长时的故事,有一天他回家告诉父亲,教练每天都对他大喊大叫。他的父亲是一名前大学橄榄球运动员,他告诉他:“当教练对你大喊大叫时,你不必担心,因为这意味着教练知道你可以做到。你只需要担心教练是否不再对你大喊大叫。”

“我认为我早期与吉尔的关系也是如此,”内文说。 “他提出了非常积极的建设性批评,因为他知道我能做到。能够很好地主持复杂审判的律师很少。有很多律师在尝试。做得好的人并不多。他清楚地看到我能做到,然后向我灌输知识和技能。”

Nevin 现在是该公司的长期合伙人,审理过 200 多个复杂的石棉案件,其中包括 3 个法官裁决和 25 个陪审团裁决。尽管他审理的案件数量已不像 15 年前那么多(他估计 99% 的案件都得到了解决),但与石棉相关的案件数量并没有减少。

“每个人总是认为石棉诉讼很快就会消失,他们这样想了 35 年,但事实并非如此,”Nevin 说。 “那是因为你接触石棉后需要几十年的时间才会患上与石棉相关的疾病。美国石棉使用高峰期约为 1980 年。因此,直到 60 或 70 年后,我们才会看到疾病水平下降。

他称石棉为“美国肮脏的小秘密”。

“与石棉相关的大型公司在 1910 年左右就知道石棉会杀人,”他说。 “无论如何,他们都用了它。这是一个非常好的产品。它按预期工作得很好,可以制造耐寒、防火、耐酸的材料——它只是产生了一种灾难性的副产品,吸入灰尘的工人几十年后就会因此而死亡。这些公司决定接受这一点。”

Nevin 表示,目前,Brayton Purcell LLP 拥有一支由经验丰富的律师组成的强大团队和坚实的培训新律师的指导计划结构,他描述了他在考虑雇用年轻出庭律师时所寻求的一些特质。

“他们必须真的想站在原告一边,”他说。 “我们一直在寻找想要出庭或想要成为案件的负责律师并且有能力承担责任的律师。他们需要有动力和信心立即开始行动。”

该公司迅速适应了 COVID-19 大流行所需的远程环境。尽管一些原告律师反对通过 Zoom 审理案件,但布雷顿·珀塞尔 (Brayton Purcell) 接受了这一挑战。

“我们是不同的。我们决定走吧。我们可以做到这一点,”内文说。

该公司将两间会议室改造成 Zoom 工作室,并帮助律师和员工设计家庭办公室,以利于在家工作。该公司的审判律师已成功进行了多次有关 Zoom 的陪审团和法官审判。

“我们发现,与您可能会失去个人联系的担心相反,我们发现,不,您不会,”内文说。 “Zoom 审判的惊人好处是陪审员面前有一个屏幕。他们可以很好地看到你。他们能很好地听到你的声音。他们实际上可以看到展品。我们发现陪审团确实更喜欢 Zoom 审判而不是现场审判,而且他们更加关注。”

内文说,这场大流行不仅改变了公司进行试验的方式。它从根本上改变了公司的管理方式。该公司百分之九十的员工和律师现在都在家工作,包括内文。

他说:“我们发现,如果人们拥有他们需要的技术,那么我们就比以前有更多的面对面交流。”他补充说,他们发现绝大多数员工的工作效率更高家。 “对于愿意接受这一流行病的公司来说,这种流行病永远改变了法律实践。”

作为该公司的联席经理,Nevin 在过去 1 又 1/2 年里带头努力通过将公司运营、通信、数据和文档的所有方面纳入一个案例管理系统来提高公司范围内的效率。

“我们付出了很大的努力,因为我们正在改变 35 年来的运营方式,”他说,并将这个雄心勃勃的项目描述为他的第二份工作。 “我认为这是所有律师事务所都应该走的路。

他预计新系统将于明年初投入使用。

“作为一名律师 20 年后,我很荣幸能够与优秀的同事一起继续为值得信赖的客户提供服务,”Nevin 总结道。

来源

分享

Ada-Icon

Blog

Asbestos attorney continues to make his mark in the field

James P. Nevin, Esq.For the first decade of his career, trial attorney James Nevin worked at a relentless, breakneck pace, trying asbestos and other tort cases nearly nonstop.“I would finish one trial and the next day start a new one,” he recalls. “I would get a verdict in one trial and the next day I’d be doing motions in limine in the next trial. It was just trial after trial after trial, which was an amazing experience.”

The law firm Nevin had joined right out of law school, Brayton Purcell LLP in California, was awash in cases of workers victimized by toxic exposures in the workplace, and the young lawyer dived in head first. It was a rare opportunity for an attorney who had the necessary litigation talent and drive.

“We had the need for more trial attorneys and I had the desire,” he says. “They just threw me right in. With most firms you’re going to be there for many years before you get to first-chair a trial. I don’t think anywhere else I would have received the opportunity to try so many cases at such a young age.”

Nevin began first-chairing trials only a few years out of law school. He remembers his first trial in 2005, in which he won a $1.25-million verdict for a client with asbestosis, and says the defense attorney, the judge and the clerk couldn’t have been more accommodating to a young lawyer. He remembers the clerk let him in the courtroom early to set up and allowed him to stay late, if necessary.

“They were as gracious as they could be,” says Nevin. “It was a great first experience and I was just lucky to have that situation. It could have easily gone the other way.”

There were many more favorable verdicts over the next several years – so many, in fact, that a mere six years later — at the age of 36 — he was invited to join the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA), which requires its members to have at least five years of active experience as a trial lawyer and to have first-chaired at least 10 civil jury trials to conclusion. Nevin became the second youngest member in the history of ABOTA nationally and the youngest member in the history of the organization’s San Francisco chapter.

It was a high distinction he earned through working 12- to 13-hour days seven days a week. He drew from a seemingly inexhaustible energy source that was fed by the belief that he was representing people who had been unjustifiably wronged.

“When you are doing good for deserving people, I think it helps you find that inner strength to keep going,” he says.

Ironically, for as skillful a trial lawyer as he turned out to be, Nevin had never given litigation much thought. He had initially set his eyes on practicing international corporate law.

That he would become a lawyer, though, was likely always in the cards.

Born and raised in Marin, CA, which is in the northwestern corner of the San Francisco Bay Area, Nevin comes from a large family that traces its roots to Kilkenny, Ireland, and that has a long tradition of careers as nurses, police officers, and lawyers. His grandfather, one uncle, and numerous cousins were police officers; his father, two uncles, and one aunt were lawyers; and his mother, sister, as well as both grandmothers were nurses.

“I’ve tried to instill in my children that I feel that coming from a family of immigrants, every generation has a duty to try to achieve more than the previous generation and to give back to society,” says Nevin.

Nevin and his wife, Brigit, have been married 20 years and have four children – Sean, who is a senior in high school; Shelby, who is a sophomore; Claire, who is in the eighth grade; and Colin, who is in the fifth grade. Brigit was an enforcement scientist for the EPA before retiring to raise the children. She is a passionate advocate for children with learning disabilities.

Nevin’s legal career path began when he resolved to experience more of the world.

Having lived his entire life in the bubble of Marin County, with its giant redwood trees and views of the Golden Gate Bridge, Nevin decided after graduating high school to travel across the country to pursue a B.A. in international studies from Boston College. In addition, he studied abroad at Beijing University and Nanjing University in China and at the Foreign Affairs Institute in Belgium, as part of building his international resume.

He returned to his home state after undergrad to obtain a master’s degree from Stanford in East Asian Studies with a focus on government and business before attending UCLA Law School, where he was the Law Review editor.

A depressed market for transactional lawyers at the time and a preference for not raising a family overseas, led Nevin to change his career focus from international business law and took him and Brigit, his fiancé at the time, back to Marin.

The move returned Nevin to his roots in more ways than one. The position he took in the Novato office of Brayton Purcell, where he had law clerked during his third year in law school, returned him to helping people in a fashion that his family had championed for generations. The 37-year-old firm concentrates on cases involving mesothelioma and other asbestos-related disease.

“It really helps when you are representing the good guy,” he says. “It helps when your heart’s in the right place because you’re doing right.”

While pursuing litigation was born out of necessity, he quickly discovered he had a natural talent for the work.“I immediately found that not only do I like this, but I am really good at it,” he says.

What’s more, he encountered Gil Purcell, one of two senior partners of the firm who proved to be a no-nonsense mentor that shot straight from the hip and carried high expectations.

“Trial attorneys are both born and bred,” says Nevin. “You must have the innate skills and desire, but then you also need good training and mentorship, and I was fortunate to have both.”

Nevin responded well to Purcell’s mentoring style, which could be blunt and unforgiving. When Nevin left the courtroom after his first trial, he was jubilant and flush with victory – Purcell, who had been listening out in the hallway with his ear to a crack in the door, handed Nevin a 10-page list written in purple ink of all the things he’d done wrong in the trial.

“He was a great mentor,” says Nevin, who goes on to tell the story of when he was co-captain of the high school football team and went home one day to tell his father that the coach kept yelling at him every day. His father, a former college football player, told him: “You do not have to worry about when coach is yelling at you because it means that coach knows you can do it. You only need to worry if coach stops yelling at you.”

“I think my relationship early on with Gil was the same way,” says Nevin. “He was providing very aggressive constructive criticism because he knew I could do it. There are very few attorneys who can first-chair a complex trial well. There are many attorneys who try. Not many people who do it well. He clearly saw that I could do it and then instilled the knowledge and skills in me.”

Nevin is now a long-time partner at the firm and has tried more than 200 complex asbestos cases that include three bench verdicts and 25 jury verdicts. While he is not taking nearly as many cases to trial as he was 15 years ago (he estimates 99 percent settle), the number of asbestos-related cases has not abated.

“Everyone always thinks asbestos litigation is going to go away soon and they have thought that for 35 years and it hasn’t,” says Nevin. “That is because it takes decades after you were exposed before you develop an asbestos-related disease. Peak asbestos use in the United States was in about 1980. So, it won’t be until 60 or 70 years from then that we will see the disease levels go down.”

He calls asbestos “America’s dirty little secret.”

“Big asbestos-related companies knew in around 1910 that asbestos would kill people,” he says. “They used it anyway. It was such a good product. It worked well as intended, to make hardy, fire-proof, acid-proof resistant material – it just had this catastrophic byproduct that workers who inhaled the dust were going to die decades later from it. And the companies decided that they could live with that.”

Currently, Brayton Purcell LLP has a strong group of seasoned attorneys and a solid structure of mentoring programs to train new attorneys, according to Nevin, who describes a handful of traits he looks for when considering hiring a young trial attorney.

“They have to really want to be on the plaintiff’s side,” he says. “We always look for attorneys that want to be either in the courtroom or want to be the responsible attorney for a case and are capable of handling the responsibility. They need to have both the drive and confidence to hit the ground running.”

The firm adapted quickly to the remote environment necessitated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Where some plaintiff attorneys opposed trying cases over Zoom, Brayton Purcell embraced the challenge.

“We were different. We decided let’s go. We can do this,” says Nevin.

The firm converted two conference rooms into Zoom studios and helped attorneys and staff design their home offices to be conducive to working from home. The firm’s trial attorneys have successfully conducted numerous jury and bench trials over Zoom.

“What we found, contrary to the concern that you might lose a personal connection, is no, you don’t,” says Nevin. “The amazing benefit of Zoom trials is jurors have a screen right in front of them. They can see you well. They can hear you well. They can actually see the exhibits. We have found that juries really like Zoom trials more than in-person trials, and they pay more attention.”

The pandemic didn’t just change how the firm conducts its trials, Nevin says. It fundamentally changed how the firm is managed. Ninety percent of its staff and attorneys now work from home, including Nevin.

“We found that if people just have the technology that they need, that if anything we have more face-to-face than we did before,” he says, adding that they’ve found the vast majority of employees are more productive working from home. “The pandemic has changed forever the practice of law for firms that are willing to embrace that.”

As co-manager of the firm, Nevin has spearheaded an effort over the last 1 and 1/2 years to increase firm-wide efficiency by bringing all aspects of the firm’s operations, communications, data, and documents under one case management system.

“It has taken a lot of effort because we are changing 35 years of a way of operating,” he says, characterizing the ambitious project as his second job. “I think this is the path that all law firms should follow.

He expects to go live with the new system early next year.

“After 20 years as an attorney, I am privileged, along with great colleagues, to continue to serve deserving clients,” concludes Nevin.

Source

Share