石棉和雇主的责任

不幸的是,接触石棉是一种常见的工作场所危害。员工在处理含有石棉的材料、拆除具有长期休眠绝缘层的建筑物,甚至在铁路或造船厂工作时,可能会面临危险。根据法律,每个雇主都有责任确保其工作场所对其员工而言尽可能安全。

如果不满足这一要求,可能会引发工人赔偿保险索赔或人身伤害诉讼。咨询律师可以帮助您将您的诊断与雇主未能保障您的安全联系起来。 Brayton Purcell LLP 的专职律师可以评估您的情况,并帮助您更好地了解石棉的危险以及您的雇主对您患上的任何疾病的责任。

检查每个工作场所是否存在潜在暴露

雇主有责任确保每个工作场所对于他们雇用的工人执行的工作都是安全的。这包括评估因接触石棉等危险物质而可能产生的潜在危害。

目前这些问题最常出现在建筑或拆除行业中。雇主应研究建筑物的历史,以确定多年来是否在建筑或更新中使用过石棉。此外,如果建筑物具有一定的年龄,则可以合理地假设存在石棉。

根据《职业安全与健康管理规则》第 § 1926.1101 条,建筑或拆除雇主不得允许其工人在八小时内接触每立方厘米空气超过 0.1 纤维的石棉。这意味着雇主必须提供所有必要的安全设备以防止这种暴露。类似的概念也适用于其他现代行业的 OSHA 法规。

危险的石棉暴露在过去几十年里经常发生

对于工人来说不幸的是,OSHA 制定的许多现代安全规则直到 20世纪末才得到执行。对于石棉来说尤其如此。直到 20 世纪 70 年代,关于这种危险物质还没有定期执行的广泛联邦法规。雇主经常按照他们认为合适的方式使用它。然而,工人往往没有接受过或接受过很少的有关安全使用石棉或防护装备以防止接触的培训。

这种缺乏保护的情况发生在许多行业。当然,努力获取这种物质的矿工每天都会面临接触的危险。使用石棉产品的建筑行业工人也是如此。

这种缺乏安全性的影响至今仍然存在。由于公司几十年前的选择,大多数蓝领职业的员工仍然面临着风险。经验丰富的律师可以帮助受影响的各方维护自己的合法权利,并探讨如何让雇主因未能保障工人安全而承担责任。

石棉和雇主责任引发了许多关键问题

大量员工在工作时面临石棉暴露风险。这是导致大量间皮瘤诊断的部分原因。

可悲的是,即使是现代雇主也可能无法保证工人的安全。大多数蓝领职业(例如建筑业、铁路业或航运业)的员工在处理旧建筑物或机械时仍可能面临石棉接触。雇主必须提供适当的安全设备和培训,以限制接触石棉的机会,因为石棉接触没有安全水平。律师可以帮助您评估接触石棉后的合法权利,无论这种情况发生在几十年前还是最近。今天就给我们打电话开始吧。

Exposure to asbestos is an unfortunately common workplace hazard. Employees may be put at risk when handling materials that contain asbestos, demolishing buildings with long-dormant insulation, or even working on railroads or shipyards. By law, every employer has a duty to ensure that their workplace is as safe as possible for their employees.

Failing to meet this requirement could give rise to workers’ compensation insurance claims or personal injury lawsuits. Consulting with an attorney could help you connect your diagnosis to your employer’s failure to keep you safe. A dedicated attorney at Brayton Purcell LLP could evaluate your situation and help you better understand the dangers of asbestos and your employer’s responsibility for any illnesses you develop.

Examining Each Work Site for Potential Exposure

Employers have a duty to ensure that every worksite is safe for the job they are hiring workers to perform. This includes evaluating the potential hazards that may result from exposure to dangerous substances, such as asbestos.

These present-day concerns most often arise in the construction or demolition industries. Employers should research the building’s history to determine if asbestos has ever been used in construction or updates over the years. Additionally, if the building is of a certain age, it is reasonable to assume that asbestos will be present.

According to Occupational Safety and Health Administration Rules § 1926.1101, construction or demolition employers must not allow their workers to face exposure to asbestos in excess of 0.1 fiber per cubic centimeter of air over a period of eight hours. This means that employers must provide all necessary safety equipment to prevent this exposure. Similar concepts apply to OSHA regulations in other modern-day industries.

Dangerous Asbestos Exposure Often Happened Decades in the Past

It is unfortunate for workers that many of the modern safety rules in place under OSHA were not enforced as recently as the late 20th century. This is especially true in the case of asbestos. As late as the 1970s, there were no regularly enforced wide-ranging federal regulations concerning this dangerous substance. Employers often used it as they saw fit. However, workers often received no or minimal training concerning the safe use of asbestos or protective gear to prevent exposure.

This lack of protection occurred in many industries. Naturally, miners who worked to obtain this substance faced exposure on a daily basis. So too did workers in the construction industry using asbestos-based products.

The impact of this lack of safety is still present today. Employees in most blue-collar professions still experience exposure as a consequence of companies’ choices decades ago. An experienced attorney could help impacted parties stand up for their legal rights and explore how they may hold employers liable for their failures to keep workers safe.

Asbestos and Employer Responsibility Raises Many Key Questions

Asbestos exposure is a risk that a surprisingly large number of employees face while on the job.. This is part of what has led to a large number of mesothelioma diagnoses.

Sadly, even modern-day employers may fail to keep their workers safe. Employees in most blue-collar professions such as the construction, railroad, or shipping industries may still face exposure to asbestos when dealing with old buildings or machinery. Employers must provide proper safety equipment and training to limit the chances of exposure, since there is no safe level of exposure to asbestos. An attorney could help you evaluate your legal rights after asbestos exposure, whether this occurred decades ago or in the recent past. Give us a call today to get started.