间皮瘤的体征

由于间皮瘤非常罕见,许多医疗保健从业者需要很长时间才能诊断它。更快的诊断为患者提供了利用延长生命的治疗的最佳机会。通常,当患者的医生认识到间皮瘤的症状和体征时,疾病已经发展得太严重,无法成功延长生命。遗憾的是,间皮瘤几乎总是致命的。

如果您被诊断出患有间皮瘤或最近因这种可怕的疾病而失去了您的亲人,您应该与当地律师交谈,以了解更多有关您的合法权利和选择的信息。请联系 Brayton Purcell LLP,讨论您的经济补偿方案。

什么是间皮瘤?

间皮瘤是一种罕见的癌症。接触石棉后,人体内通常需要数十年的时间才能形成,石棉是间皮瘤的唯一原因。它是在某人摄入或吸入石棉纤维后形成的。这些纤维遍布全身。随着时间的推移,它们会引起炎症、疤痕、癌症和其他问题。

间皮瘤可以在人体的四个不同部位形成。它通常在胸膜中形成,胸膜是围绕肺部的非常薄的膜,但它也可以在围绕腹部、心脏或睾丸的膜中形成。

虽然有些人的病情可以通过化疗、放疗和其他治疗得到改善,但目前大多数治疗方案都无法治愈这种疾病。相反,这些治疗旨在帮助人们延长寿命。如今间皮瘤患者的平均预期寿命为 18 至 31 个月。

及早发现和治疗间皮瘤的体征和症状为患者提供了延长寿命的最佳机会。间皮瘤诉讼的胜诉可以为患者提供当今最好的医疗治疗的经济途径。法律上的胜利也有助于确保患者家庭的经济福祉。

间皮瘤的常见体征和症状

由于间皮瘤非常罕见,医生经常将其误认为是其他疾病。间皮瘤的症状因疾病的类型和部位而异。

胸膜间皮瘤——肺周围

不幸的是,胸膜间皮瘤的许多症状与其他更常见疾病的症状相似,例如肺炎和支气管炎。胸膜间皮瘤患者经常出现干咳、气短、胸痛和疲劳。他们还可能会出现喉咙嘶哑或吞咽困难的情况。

腹膜间皮瘤——位于腹部

腹膜间皮瘤发生在患者腹腔内壁。患有这种间皮瘤的人经常会出现腹痛、体重减轻、恶心、呕吐、便秘以及腹部肿胀或积液。通过早期发现和治疗,腹膜间皮瘤患者的预期寿命比其他形式的疾病患者更长。

心包间皮瘤——在心脏

患有这种罕见间皮瘤的患者经常会出现胸痛、心律不齐、心脏杂音、胸腔积液和呼吸短促等症状。

睾丸间皮瘤

患有这种疾病的患者会出现睾丸肿块、疼痛和肿胀。通过治疗,睾丸间皮瘤患者的预期寿命比某些其他形式的间皮瘤患者更长,但复发率非常高。

与一位富有同情心的律师一起工作至关重要,他了解每种间皮瘤的各种诊断和预后。

与了解如何寻找间皮瘤症状的当地律师合作

如果您认为自己通过直接或二手接触接触了石棉,并且出现呼吸短促、胸痛或间皮瘤的任何其他常见症状,则应寻求医疗帮助。医生可以进行必要的血液检查、成像和活检,以给出准确的诊断和预后。

您还应该考虑提出合法的赔偿要求。我们富有同情心的律师了解您和您家人的痛苦,我们将努力为您伸张正义。今天打电话

Ada-Icon

Signs of Mesothelioma

Because mesothelioma is so uncommon, many healthcare practitioners take too long to diagnose it. A faster diagnosis gives a patient the best chance to take advantage of life-extending treatments. Often, by the time a patient’s doctor recognizes the symptoms and signs of mesothelioma, the disease has progressed too far for life-extending treatment to be successful. Sadly, mesothelioma is almost always fatal.

If you received a diagnosis of mesothelioma or recently lost your loved one to this horrible disease, you should speak with a local attorney to learn more about your legal rights and options. Contact us at Brayton Purcell L.L.P. to discuss your financial compensation options.

What is Mesothelioma?

Mesothelioma is a rare form of cancer. It usually take decades to develop in a person’s body after exposure to asbestos, the only cause of mesothelioma. It develops after somebody ingests or inhales asbestos fibers. These fibers travel throughout the body. Over time, they cause inflammation, scarring, cancer, and other problems.

Mesothelioma can form in four different locations in the human body. It usually develops in the pleura, which is the very thin membrane that surrounds the lungs, but it can also form in the membrane that surrounds the abdomen, heart, or testicles.

While some people’s conditions can improve with chemotherapy, radiation, and other treatments, most treatment programs available today cannot cure the disease. Instead, these treatments aim to help people extend their lives. The average life expectancy of a mesothelioma patient today is between 18 and 31 months.

Early detection and treatment of the signs and symptoms of mesothelioma gives patients the best chance of leading a longer life. Prevailing in a mesothelioma lawsuit could provide a patient financial access to the best possible medical treatments available today. A legal victory could also help secure the patient’s family’s economic well-being.

Common Signs and Symptoms of Mesothelioma

Because mesothelioma is so rare, doctors often mistake it for other illnesses. The symptoms of mesothelioma vary based on the type and location of the disease.

Pleural Mesothelioma—Surrounding the Lungs

Unfortunately, many of the signs of pleural mesothelioma resemble those of other, more common illnesses, such as pneumonia and bronchitis. People with pleural mesothelioma often experience a dry cough, shortness of breath, chest pain, and fatigue. They might also experience hoarseness of the throat or trouble swallowing.

Peritoneal Mesothelioma—in the Abdomen

Peritoneal mesothelioma occurs in the lining of a patient’s abdominal cavity. People with this form of mesothelioma frequently suffer from abdominal pain, weight loss, nausea, vomiting, constipation, and swelling or fluid in the abdomen. With early detection and treatment, patients with peritoneal mesothelioma have a longer life expectancy than patients with other forms of the disease.

Pericardial Mesothelioma—in the Heart

Patients with this rare form of mesothelioma frequently suffer from chest pain, irregular heartbeats, heart murmurs, fluid in the chest, and shortness of breath.

Testicular Mesothelioma

Patients with this form of the disease experience testicular masses, pain, and swelling. With treatment, testicular mesothelioma patients have a longer life expectancy than with some other forms of mesothelioma, but the recurrence rate is very high.

It is critical to work alongside a compassionate attorney who understands the various diagnoses and prognoses of each type of mesothelioma.

Work with a Local Lawyer Who Understands How to Look for the Symptoms of Mesothelioma

If you believe that you were exposed to asbestos either through direct or second-hand contact, and you are experiencing shortness of breath, chest pain, or any of the other common signs of mesothelioma, you should seek medical assistance. A doctor could perform the bloodwork, imaging, and biopsies necessary to give an accurate diagnosis and prognosis.

You should also consider filing a legal claim for compensation. Our compassionate attorneys understand you and your family’s suffering, and we will work hard to achieve justice on your behalf. Call today.